Skip to main content
logo  

Whitaker Library at Chowan University : McDowell Collection

"A Tool For Your Success"

McDowell Collection Hours

To use the McDowell Collection please contact Ms. Linda Hassell to make an appointment.

E-Mail - HasseL@chowan.edu
Phone - 252-398-6586

Appointments to use the McDowell Collection can be made:

Monday- Friday: 9:00AM- 4:00PM**

**Exceptions during the holidays and between sessions are posted on the library's door.**

Search the McDowell & Creech Collections



 

McDowell Collection of Archives and Antiquities

The purpose of the McDowell Collection of Archives and Antiquities is to collect, organize, make available, and preserve records of rare or fragile materials for research, relating to Chowan University and local history. Materials may be collected in all formats, and will include any item acquired by the University relating to the purpose of this collection. Specific items may include:

  • Annuals/yearbooks, catalogs, student and employee handbooks
  • Chowan University publications
  • Programs from university events
  • Books by Chowan faculty, staff, or students
  • Chowan University textbooks before 1900

This collection, dedicated in 1975, is named for the late William Herbert and Emily Biggs McDowell of Scotland Neck, North Carolina. Below is a sample of archival holdings:

  • Bernice Kelly Harris paper
  • Valentine Diary
  • Surviving the Hard Times, 1930’s style
  • Tulie Speight sketches and watercolor paintings

A sub-division of the McDowell Collections is the Whitaker Collection of Presidential Papers. The purpose of the Whitaker Collection is to collect, house, and make available for research materials pertaining to the presidencies of Chowan University. This collection was initially funded by Dr. & Mrs. Bruce E. Whitaker. Dr. Whitaker served as the nineteenth president of Chowan University from 1957-1989. Mrs. Esther Whitaker served for many years as a faculty member at the University. Materials may be collected in all formats, and shall include such items as:

  • President’s annual report to the Board of Trustees
  • Minutes of the Board of Trustees
  • A Yearly financial audit report
  • Copies of Presidential speechs
  • Plaques, pictures, awards given to the President
  • Clothing worn during inauguration activities

Collection of these items is contingent upon their availability from the President’s Office.

The McDowell Collection may be searched through the Whitaker Library online catalog.

Mr. & Mrs. William H. McDowell

Mr. William Herbert McDowell

Mrs. Emily Biggs McDowell

Donations

Many people have donated items that have been useful and valuable to our researchers.  Donated items are appreciated.  If you have items related to Chowan University, local history, or Baptist heritage,  please contact Ms. Linda Hassell at 252-398-6586.


One University Place | Murfreesboro, NC 27855 | Phone: (252) 398-6212 | E-mail: library@chowan.edu