Skip to main content
logo  

Whitaker Library at Chowan University : Creech Collection

"A Tool For Your Success"

Search the McDowell & Creech Collections



 

Reverend Oscar Creech

Oscar Creech Collection of Baptist Materials

The purpose of the Oscar Creech Collection of Baptist Materials is to collect, organize, make available, and preserve records of research materials relating to Southern Baptist history, including local and regional associations.  The Creech Collection seeks materials, especially minutes, from the Baptist regions in the area.  We attempt to maintain full runs of the North Carolina and Virginia state Baptist newspapers, as well as Baptist convention annuals from North Carolina, Virginia, and the Southern Baptist Convention, and church histories.

This collection is named for the late Reverend Oscar Creech of Ahoskie, North Carolina, Baptist pastor in the Roanoke-Chowan area.  He was a member of the Chowan University staff, and a co-author of A History of Chowan College.

The Creech Collection may be searched through the Whitaker Library online catalog.

Donations

Many people have donated items that have been useful and valuable to our researchers.  Donated items are appreciated.  If you have items related to Chowan University, local history, or Baptist heritage,  please contact Ms. Linda Hassell at 252-398-6586.

Creech Collection Hours

To use the Creech Collection of Baptist Materials please contact Ms. Linda Hassell to make an appointment.

E-Mail - HasseL@chowan.edu
Phone - 252-398-6586

Appointments to use the Creech Collection of Baptist Materials can be made:

Monday- Friday: 9:00AM- 4:00PM**

**Exceptions during the holidays and between sessions are posted on the library's door.**


One University Place | Murfreesboro, NC 27855 | Phone: (252) 398-6212 | E-mail: library@chowan.edu