How long can books be checked out?
Most items are due back within 4 weeks of the checkout date. Items checked out to graduate students, faculty, and staff members are normally due back at the end of the current semester. Reference items may be checked out for two days at a time. Reserve items and laptops can be checked out in two hour increments.
Who can check out materials from the library?
Current students, faculty, and staff, as well as members of the Friends of the Library may check out materials from the library. Upon request, borrowing privileges may also be extended to retired faculty, members of the Chowan University Board of Visitors, and local ministers. Members of the general public who wish to check out materials can do so by joining the Friends of the Library group ($25 fee).
What do I need to check out a book?
Students, faculty, and staff may use their Chowan University ID to check out library materials. Friends of the Library members can obtain a library card from the main desk.
How much are fines for overdue materials?
For circulating items, fines are 10¢ per item per day. Charges for reference items are $1.00 per item per day. Charges for reserve items and laptops accrue at $1.00 per hour. The fee for lost books from Whitaker Library will be a flat $60.00 charge.
Do I have to be a student to use the library?
Anyone may use the library. However, most computers are reserved for academic use and you must have a library card or Chowan University ID to take materials out of the library.
How can I get a book the library doesn't own?
If you need an item that the library doesn't own, you can submit a request for us to borrow it from another library through interlibrary loan. To submit an interlibrary loan request, click on the Interlibrary Loan link at the library web page.
How do I access the library's online resources?
To access the library's online resources from a campus computer, Go to the library's home page, and click on 'Electronic Resources' under the Resources drop-down menu at the library's home page.
How do I find the book my instructor placed on reserve?
Students can search for reserve items by professor or by course number using the course reserve search. Reserve items can be obtained by asking at the circulation desk.
How much does it cost to print at the library?
Students are given a print allowance of $40.00 per academic year. Once students have used their allotment they should go to the Business Office to add to their account in increments of $5.00. Community members will be charged 10¢ per page for black and white and 20¢ per page for color.
Does the library have study rooms available?
There are three private study rooms available on the main floor. In the basement, the TRC room may be reserved as a group study room during library hours. Students can make reservations through Online Room Reservation system.
How can I see what books I have checked out?
You can see your current checkouts by clicking on 'My Library Account' in the catalog. You will need your name, CampusWeb ID, and your PIN number.
What's my PIN number?
In order to view your patron record or submit an interlibrary loan request online you will need to enter your PIN number. If you have never used either of these functions before, you will need to create a PIN number. If you have forgotten your PIN, you can reset your pin here or contact the main desk (252-398-6212) to reset your pin.
Does the library have audio books?
Yes, the library has a small collection of audio books on CD located on the main floor of the library. If we do not have the title you are looking for check the public library on Main Street.
Does the library have videos or DVDs?
The library has a small collection of videos and DVDs mainly for the purpose of curriculum support. You can find what video and DVD's are in the library's collection by searching the catalog. The library also has a subscription to Films on Demand, a service that streams educational videos.
What's in the TRC?
The Teacher Resources Center contains items that support the Teacher Education program at Chowan. These include textbooks for grades K-12, activity books, teaching kits, and children's big books.
How can I access the University Archives?
The library's special collections are open to patrons upon request for the purpose of historical and genealogical research. Anyone seeking access should contact the Special Collections Librarian (252-398-6586).
Why does the library have a section for juvenile books?
The library holds a small collection of juvenile books primarily to support the teacher education program at Chowan.
Can I use my laptop in the library?
Patrons are welcome to bring their laptops to the library. Electrical outlets are conveniently located near most study areas and wireless internet access is available throughout the library.
Does the library have audio-visual equipment available for checkout?
The library has a TV/VCR cart, slide projector, overhead projector, cassette recorder, laptops, projectors, and projector screens, and a portable lectern available for check out to faculty and staff. To checkout equipment please reserve the equipment through the online room reservation system.
Can I send a fax?
Yes. The library fax number is (252) 398-1301. Sending faxes costs a $1.00 per page and $0.50 per page to receive.
Fall and Spring Semesters
Monday – Thursday 7:45AM – 11PM
Friday – 7:45AM – 4PM
Saturday – 10AM – 4PM
Sunday – 2PM – 11PM
Monday – Thursday 8AM – 5PM
Friday – 8AM – 4PM
Saturday & Sunday– closed
EXCEPTIONS will be posted on the library door. Closed most Holidays.