Skip to main content

 

Library Collections

McDowell Collection of Archives and Antiquities

1929 Class Ring

1929 Class Ring from Chowan College

This ring belonged to alumnus Mrs. Mary Lou Armstrong (née Jones).

The purpose of the McDowell Collection of Archives and Antiquities is to collect, organize, make available, and preserve records of rare or fragile materials for research, relating to Chowan University and local history. The McDowell Collection may be searched through the Whitaker Library's online catalogSome examples of items found in this collection include Chowan University publications, Books by Chowan faculty, staff, or students and Bernice Kelly Harris paper. To either use this collection or donate to this collection contact, Linda Hassell at  hassel@chowan.edu or (252)-398-6586.

Whitaker Collection of Presidential Papers

A sub-division of the McDowell Collections is the Whitaker Collection of Presidential Papers. The purpose of the Whitaker Collection is to collect, house, and make available for research materials pertaining to the presidencies of Chowan University. This collection was initially funded by Dr. & Mrs. Bruce E. Whitaker. Dr. Whitaker served as the nineteenth president of Chowan University from 1957-1989. Mrs. Esther Whitaker served for many years as a faculty member at the University.

Collection of these items is contingent upon their availability from the President’s Office.

1931 Award

1931 The Chowan College Highest Four Year Average

This medal was awarded to alumnus Emma Gay Stephenson.

Find us on Facebook

 

  • One University Place
  • Murfreesboro, NC 27855
  • Phone: (252) 398-6212
  • Text: (252) 313-9042
  • E-mail: library@chowan.edu