Skip to main content

 

Library Collections

Oscar Creech Collection of Baptist Materials

The purpose of the Oscar Creech Collection of North Carolina Baptist Materials is to collect, organize, make available, and preserve records of research materials relating to Baptist history, including local and regional associations. 

The Creech Collection seeks materials, especially minutes, from the Baptist churches in the area.  It will attempt to maintain full runs of the North Carolina and Virginia state Baptist newspapers, as well as Baptist convention annuals from North Carolina, and Virginia, It will attempt to collect church histories. To either use this collection or donate to this collection contact, Linda Hassell at  hassel@chowan.edu or (252)-398-6586.

The Creech Collection may be searched through the Whitaker Library online catalog.

The Biblical Recorder (1834- 1970)

The Biblical Recorder is an official publication of the North Carolina Baptist State Convention. This collection was digitized by the Z. Smith Reynolds Library at Wake Forest University.

Religion in North Carolina

The Internet Archive has digitized historical documents from churches across North Carolina, including meeting minutes, and church histories. If you do not find the information you are looking for online? Check the Creech Collection for access to print materials.

Find us on Facebook

 

  • One University Place
  • Murfreesboro, NC 27855
  • Phone: (252) 398-6212
  • Text: (252) 313-9042
  • E-mail: library@chowan.edu