Updated August 2022 - (Approved by Library Committee March 1, 2016)
This policy is proposed as a statement of the operating guidelines used by Whitaker Library in its acquisition and maintenance of materials. A collection must be based on an understanding of the purpose of the library,and must be systematically shaped and developed in order to make best use of the funds allotted it. The following are general policies that guide the process of developing Whitaker Library's collection. In this policy, the word "materials" shall be used to encompass all classes of materials that a library collects and makes available to its users.
Whitaker Library shall acquire materials according to the following policy:
Whitaker Library serves the students, faculty, staff and friends of Chowan University by providing resources and services that enhance success in learning and teaching.
Ultimate responsibility for the development and maintenance of the library's collection rests with the University Librarian, through her to the Vice-President of Academic Affairs, and ultimately with the President of the University. Faculty librarians are assigned the responsibility for collection development and maintenance, although the library recognizes the knowledge and training of university personnel and solicits from them suggestions in their respective academic fields. Suggestions from students are also considered. All purchase orders for library materials shall originate in the library and go through proper university channels.
1. Library allocations:
The quality of content and fulfillment of academic curricular need are the first criteria against which librarians evaluate any potential item. Specific considerations in choosing individual items include some or all of the following:
Other guidelines are also used:
2. Academic Department Allocations:
Each academic department will be allocated money to spend for one time purchases. The area allotments shall take into consideration the number of students in the area, the cost of that type of materials, and the need to keep all collections up to date. Each academic area will be given practically a free hand in spending the amount allotted to it in the budget. The library will communicate fund allotments with the departmental budget officer. Area members may select by whatever method they feel best serves the needs of Chowan students. In February of the budget year, the library will make any unspent funds available to other departments who have depleted their allotment, but still have a wish list.
3. Reserve Textbook Collection:
Whitaker Library does not have adequate funding to acquire required textbooks.
The Provost’s Office manages a small Textbook Fund to acquire selected textbooks in courses that meet the following criteria:
The library houses current editions of textbooks in the Reserve Textbook Collection, which is supplemented by donations from individual faculty members and departments. The Reserve Textbook Collection is intended as a backup for students and not as the primary resource for access to the textbooks required for their coursework. The size and comprehensiveness of this collection varies from year to year according to demand, funding, gift copies, and the cost of textbooks.
Gifts are accepted, with the understanding that the library may dispose of them in any fashion it considers feasible or add them to the collection at its discretion, and in the same manner as purchased material. As a general rule, gift books will be added based on the same criteria as purchased ones. The library assumes no responsibility for appraisal or listing of gift items. The University Librarian has the authority to accept gifts under restricted conditions.
Collection Maintenance and Evaluation:
Deselection is an important aspect of collection development in the university library. Upon arrival of new editions, library faculty may evaluate previous editions and withdraw those deemed outdated. Individual sections of the entire collection are periodically reviewed. Faculty are encouraged to assist in spotting outdated or inaccurate materials in their areas of expertise. Other criteria for deselection may include the physical condition of the material, age of material, use of material, and unnecessary duplication occurring in the collection.
Those materials which appear to meet any of the criteria for deselection are taken off the shelves. Library faculty then assess the material using the selection guidelines and make a decision that each item will be (1) discarded, (2) repaired or rebound, (3) replaced, or (4) returned to the collection.
Copyright © Chowan University All Rights Reserved