Skip to main content

 

Library Collections

Library Collections

Chowan History Online

 

Online collections of items from Chowan University's prestigious history, such as yearbooks and student newspapers.
McDowell Collection

 

The purpose of the McDowell Collection of Archives and Antiquities is to collect, organize, make available, and preserve records of rare or fragile materials for research, relating to Chowan University and local history. To either use this collection or donate to this collection contact, Linda Hassell at hassel@chowan.edu or (252)-398-6586.

 

Roanoke-Chowan News Herald

 

Whitaker Library has a collection of historic newspapers from the local community on microfilm.
Oscar Creech Collection

 

The purpose of the Oscar Creech Collection of Baptist Materials is to collect, organize, make available, and preserve records of research materials relating to Southern Baptist history, including local and regional associations. To either use this collection or donate to this collection contact, Linda Hassell at hassel@chowan.edu or (252)-398-6586.

 

Hobson Lecture and Prize Collection

 

Whitaker Library has a collection of books written by the current and past Hobson authors. Books by Hobson winners are identified by stickers. The Mary Frances Hobson Lecture and Prize is an annual award given to Southern authors. This award is sponsored by the Hobson Family Foundation of San Francisco as a memorial to Mary Frances Hobson (1912-1993).
Music Media Center

 

The Music Media Center, located on the upper level in Whitaker Library. It is a collection of audio recordings, and music scores provided primarily in support of the music curriculum at Chowan University.

 

Find us on Facebook

 

  • One University Place
  • Murfreesboro, NC 27855
  • Phone: (252) 398-6212
  • Text: (252) 313-9042
  • E-mail: library@chowan.edu