Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chowan University

Our Collections

A. Linda Hassell Archives

 
picture of the special collections

A plate from First Baptist Church in Clinton, North Carolina.

Ms. A. Linda Hassell is in the background.

picture of 1929 class ring

1929 Class Ring from Chowan College

This ring belonged to alumnus Mrs. Mary Lou Armstrong (née Jones).

picture of 1931 award medal

1931 The Chowan College Highest Four Year Average

This medal was awarded to alumnus Emma Gay Stephenson.

Picture of Dr. Whitaker

Dr. Bruce E. Whitaker

19th president of Chowan University from 1957-1989

Picture of William Herbert Mcdowell

Mr. William Herbert Mcdowell

Picture of Emily Biggs Mcdowell

Mrs. Emily Biggs Mcdowell

Picture of Oscar Creech

Rev. Oscar Creech

McDowell Collection of Archives and Antiquities

This collection, dedicated in 1975, is named for the late William Herbert and Emily Biggs McDowell of Scotland Neck, North Carolina.

The purpose of the McDowell Collection of Archives and Antiquities is to collect, organize, make available, and preserve records of rare or fragile materials for research, relating to Chowan University and local history.

Some examples of items found in this collection include

  • Chowan University publications
  • Books by Chowan faculty, staff, or students
  • Bernice Kelly Harris papers

Whitaker Collection of Presidential Papers

A sub-division of the McDowell Collections is the Whitaker Collection of Presidential Papers. The purpose of the Whitaker Collection is to collect, house, and make available for research materials pertaining to the presidencies of Chowan University. This collection was initially funded by Dr. & Mrs. Bruce E. Whitaker. Dr. Whitaker served as the nineteenth president of Chowan University from 1957-1989. Mrs. Esther Whitaker served for many years as a faculty member at the University.

Collection of these items is contingent upon their availability from the President’s Office.

Oscar Creech Collection of Baptist Materials

This collection is named for the late Reverend Oscar Creech of Ahoskie, North Carolina, Baptist pastor in the Roanoke-Chowan area. He was a member of the Chowan University staff and a co-author of A History of Chowan College.

The purpose of the Oscar Creech Collection of North Carolina Baptist Materials is to collect, organize, make available, and preserve records of research materials relating to Baptist history, including local and regional associations.

The Creech Collection seeks materials, especially minutes, from the Baptist churches in the area.  It will attempt to maintain full runs of the North Carolina and Virginia state Baptist newspapers, as well as Baptist convention annuals from North Carolina, and Virginia, It will attempt to collect church histories.

Find online historical documents about Baptists and local churches